Reiman Gardens(ISU)-Ames

Since the early 1990’s the SE corner of the Iowa State University campus in Ames has been adorned with gardening beauty.Thanks to a generous gift from a local family,Reiman Gardens got its start along with the help from the horticulture department of ISU.The result has been a popular Iowa tourist attraction for young and old alike.Wisely the directors of the gardens have chosen not to rely solely on their gardening abilities to draw people to the facility.Various  naturally related features have been added to the exhibit over the years to increase public appeal.Growing from 5 acres to its present 14 acres, additions included a campanile garden,hillside garden, Lake Helen aquatic garden,the south fields ,the Patti Jischke Children’s Garden  and most recently an encloses Christine Reiman Butterfly wing.

As if that weren’t enough,appeal has been expanded this year to include Lego sculptures that complement the Mother Nature themes.Several exhibits that feature up to 50000 pieces in their construction have been strategically placed through out the gardens. How smart, because who doesn’t like to play with Legos?

The grand finale for me was a unique opportunity to experience an indoor butterfly garden manned by ISU students and featuring many unusual moths and butterflies not commonly seen in the Iowa wild.I had to resist the urge to swat at one that landed on me as there would have been too many witnesses!!So I contented  myself to capturing the pesky bugs on film. So with all the beauty and one-of-a-kindedness to behold, I certainly was able to spend a “rosy” time in Ames!

9 comments

  1. I thought you were a die hard Hawkeye Fan! Down with the clowns! My students will be on your blog soon so be ready for some great feedback

    Zink

    Like

    • Hawkeyes for the most part..But occassionally I have rooted for the Clones and of course the Panthers too!!Thanks for the heads up on possible deluge of comments. I look forward to reading them.. tell your students that the word “cool” doesn’t constitute a sentence! I will be posting a few new locations within the week.

      Like

    • I wish to report that the comments have been much improved versus a year ago…Some of the students even wrote 2 or 3 sentences..I tried to reply whenever I could..How do you evaluate this assignment?

      Like

  2. Hi it’s Josie and I saw that you went to the Prairie Fossil Park and I was wondering. What the fossils were of (exp. animals, plants, ect.)? Thank You

    Like

  3. Hey Tom, I was just curious if you could give some examples of the butterflies and moths you saw. And if you knew if anything was living in the pond you took a picture of.

    Like

Iowa...It's our state what are you thinking??