The Howard County Fair(Cresco)

Any fair that advertises itself as the”Mighty” Howard County fair has got a lot to live up to and my visit to Cresco did not disappoint. I arrived at the fairgrounds around noon and noticed a steady stream of people heading to the fair from the parking lot. Immediately I knew that this was a community that was supporting the fair at least with their stomachs! So naturally I joined the throngs to the food buildings,selected the Notre Dame Parish building and treated myself to a fine pulled pork sandwich dinner.

  Fortifi clockw-ed by a delicious meal I made a casual stroll in a clockwise direction around the outskirts of the grounds. I am finding it is easier to pick your route from afar and avoid or see where the action is without diving into the middle of the crowd.


 The fair had a large Midway featuring many rides and the usual games of chance.  Although it was not running at the time it would most certainly draw crowds in the evening hours as it is intended to..Furthermore there seems to be many fairs that do not have this feature not because they aren’t wanted but because of a lack of companies who provide this service!


 My visit was further enhanced by a refreshing spin through the Air conditioned exhibit hall provided by the local Featherlite Trailer Corp providing spacious and cool showroom space for exhibitors plus a bit of historical artifacts from agriculture an early turn of the century living!

  All in all ,in the short time that I was there on the premises I could tell that this was a place that had a little bit for everyone and a venue to which I would return!!

 

 

 

Iowa...It's our state what are you thinking??