The Central Iowa Fair(Marshalltown)

The name of this  fair is fairly non descript as  most any town in Central Iowa could lay claim to this title, but maybe Marshall County and Marshalltown got there first  At any rate the fair is shooting for something more than just a county fair. So when I arrived I was looking for something that made it bigger!! They certainly have an impressive frontage exhibition building near the entrance advertising their claim.

The Farm Bureau Food Tent

Since it was near lunchtime when I arrived on the fairgrounds , my first stop was the food tent operated by the memberss of the Marshall County Farm Bureau. Naturally the food was good and even more the friendliness of the group running the food line made my stop both informational and entertaining. The choice of a  juicy cheeseburger certainly didn’t hurt my disposition either!

Then I began my search for uniqueness of this fair. There certainly was a fine representation of livestock  and facilities for shows , presentations and races but it seemed to lack any draw that a smaller local fair didn’t already have!

I did find this cute little guy entered in the rabbit competition representing a breed of rabbbit I  had never seen before.  Kind of Pekinese in nature!! I do hope that he won a nice ribbon!!

Please excuse the “Name” prejudice , The Central Iowa  really was a good fair, I just expected more.

ITA rating

Iowa...It's our state what are you thinking??