The Poweshiek County Fair(Grinnell)

The Poweshiek County Fairgrounds are located in the far southern reaches of the city of Grinnell. As I approached the fairgrounds from the north I couldn’t help but notice a different approach to fairdom in this county than the Central Iowa Fair I had visited in the morning. On the afternoon that I arrived the fair was in the midst of an equestrian event and the action centered around the arena and horse barns. Horsed were being groomed .Riders were going through the preparatory routines,Mothers and leaders were scurrying abou lending assistance to the contestants and trying to be in a positive supporting role. It was inspiring to see and it really captured the essence of county fair competition. I am sure the scene repeated itself over and over at theĀ  Cattle ,hog and sheep barns I just happened to see horses on this day!!

ITA Rating

Iowa...It's our state what are you thinking??